Bamboo Breathing

I sat across from you
in dappled sunlight
my only dream was to
hold you in my arms
love you as you were
show you your own wonder,
but the bamboo
had other ideas, I saw
it waving in the breeze
and mentioned it instead,
cursed growth
in the backyard of some
rich man we don’t know,
perhaps if I hadn’t
pointed out so many things
which you hated
you could’ve been mine,
but I didn’t know anything–
bamboo was just another
reason to inhale and
speak my mind,
that dying greenness of summer
was my excuse to
avoid your piercingly
beautiful eyes, and
keep you from reading
my mind, and now
whenever I see bamboo
I’m reminded of you.

Leave a Reply

